Post 807 Shiva Meditation class

I had stopped in at the New Age book store that I had visited before and as I was alone in the store, the owner and I began to chat. She shared that she and her partner were holding non denial unconditional love meditation classes Shiva School of Meditation and Yoga and that I was invited to attend, the next one being on Thursday, June 30. I hadn’t been to another person’s meditation group since 1994, so I thought I’d see what it was all about.

I almost didn’t go as I was having troubles hearing but I thought I’d go anyway. I arrived at 7:30 pm along with five other women. As I went down the basement to where the meditation was being held I instantly knew that this was not going to be a non denial based meditation as I saw pictures of guru’s and swami’s on the wall and an alter of another adorned with flowers and a burning candle. Great Beings

As I was having problems hearing, I sat on a cushion near the front. The “class” began with the man giving a talk on some of the “great masters” and where and with whom he and his wife had studied under.

After that intro, we (or rather they) did some chanting but as I having hearing problems and couldn’t make out the pronunciations of the Indian words, especially with the man playing a BINA Harmonium a few feet from me.
We then sat through a 45 minute video by Mahamandaleshwar Swami Shankarananda

The video was immediately followed by more chanting and then followed by a 30 minute meditation while listening to an audio CD that repeated the same two bars of Indian meditation music throughout the entire CD. When that was finished they did another brief chant and then we sat around a table and had lemonade, as they talked about how great the video was. I joined in the conversation a couple of times as there were a couple of part-truths in the video, but the significance of them were quickly bypassed as they turned to what they were more comfortable with which, was denial of the truth.

Definitely not my cup of tea, but then I already knew that, but I was interested to see how these Spirit polarity people think they are loving unconditionally and not in denial, when in reality they are in denial of being in denial and think that reaching a state of detachment from the physical world and feeling their state of mindless bliss is enlightenment… NOT!

One thought on “Post 807 Shiva Meditation class

  1. Thank you for publishing this knowledgeable article regarding visualization-meditation techniques on your site, it’s quite helpful to me and had made my life into a peace stage of mind.

Leave a Reply

